News Ticker

Latest Trends MN Minority Biz

Minority firms MNBruce P. Corrie, PhD, Chai News

Here are some trends in Minority businesses in Minnesota according to the latest and final data from the Survey of Business Owners 2012:

(page will be updated as data is analyzed)


County  – 59 counties

City – 166 cities

47,302 MN minority biz, $7.8 b sales, 58,765 jobs (lrgest MN employer? $1.5 b payroll

Minority firms are spread in 59 counties all across Minnesota. Hennepin County has the largest number of minority businesses, 19, 399 firms, followed by Ramsey County with 9506 firms. 29 counties had at least 100 minority businesses.

Minority businesses were in 29 percent of all counties in 2007. Now they are in 68 percent of all counties. In the 2007 survey the data could not be established for over 30 counties. This is not the case in 2012.

Counties with at least 100 firms:

Hennepin County
Ramsey County
Dakota County
Anoka County
Washington County
Olmsted County
Scott County
Stearns County
Carver County
St. Louis County
Wright County
Rice County
Sherburne County
Blue Earth County
Beltrami County
Becker County
Kandiyohi County
Chisago County
Otter Tail County
Nicollet County
Goodhue County
Cass County
Clay County
Polk County
Carlton County
Steele County
Mahnomen County
Nobles County

166 cities, 64 cities with at least 100 Minority firms:

Geographic area name
Minneapolis city   9,311

St. Paul city,  7,001

Brooklyn Park city,  1,900
Bloomington city
Burnsville city
Rochester city,  1,140
Eagan city
Woodbury city
Brooklyn Center city
Eden Prairie city
Plymouth city
St. Cloud city,   663
Blaine city
Maplewood city
Apple Valley city
Maple Grove city
Shakopee city
Coon Rapids city
St. Louis Park city
Minnetonka city
Roseville city
Edina city
Lakeville city
Richfield city
Golden Valley city
Columbia Heights city
Fridley city
Duluth city,  334
Hopkins city
Savage city
Crystal city
New Brighton city
Oakdale city
Robbinsdale city
Inver Grove Heights city
New Hope city
Cottage Grove city
Shoreview city
Balance of Hennepin County
Little Canada city
Balance of Beltrami County
Rosemount city
Mounds View city
Chaska city
Andover city
Balance of Becker County
Ramsey city , 171
Faribault city , 167
Mankato city  164
South St. Paul city
Willmar city, 158
Chanhassen city
Stillwater city
West St. Paul city
Balance of St. Louis County
Champlin city
Balance of Cass County
Farmington city
White Bear Lake city
Anoka city
Mahnomen County
Owatonna city
North St. Paul city

Related links – Forum on Minority Firms in MN